The NEW ABS News System is Now Available.View News »

About the ABS

The Animal Behavior Society is a non-profit, 501(3)(c) professional organization dedicated to promoting education and research in the field of animal behavior.

Standing Committees

Animal Care Committee: Alexander Ophir, Department of Psychology, Cornell University, 224 Uris Hall, Ithaca, NY 14853, US. E-mail:

Conservation Committee: Misty McPhee, Asst. Prof. Environmental Studies and Biology, 3448 Sage Hall, University of Wisconsin Oshkosh, Oshkosh, WI 54901, US. E-mail:

Nominations Committee: Emília Martins, Department of Biology, Indiana University - Bloomington 1001 E. 3rd St. Bloomington, IN 47405, USA. E-mail:

Education Committee: Susan W. Margulis, ABEC Department, Canisius College, 2001 Main Street, Buffalo, NY 14208, US. E-mail:

Film Committee: Barbara A. Clucas, Department of Wildlife, Humboldt State University, Arcata, CA 95521, US. E-mail: 

Applied Animal Behavior Committee: Robin L. Foster, Department of Psychology CMB 1046, University of Puget Sound, Tacoma, WA 98416-0001, US. E-mail:

Public Affairs Committee: Patricia Brennan, Mount Holyoke College, South Hadley, MA 01075, US. E-mail: 

Board of Professional Certification Subcommittee: Crista Coppola, Certified Applied Animal Behaviorist, Dog and Company Behavior Consulting, US. E-Mail:

Latin American Affairs Committee: Lilian Tonelli Manica, Departamento de Zoologia, Universidade Federal do Paraná, Curitiba, PR 81531-990, BRAZIL. E-mail:

Student Research Grants Committee: Beth Jakob, Department of Psychological and Brain Sciences
Tobin Hall, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA 01003, US. E-mail:

Advancement and Investment Committee: Jeff Galef, 82 Fountain View Lane, Durham, NC 27705, USA and Robert Seyfarth, Department of Psychology, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA 19104, US. E-mail:

Diversity Committee: Daniel Howard, Department of Biological Sciences, University of New Hampshire, Durham, NH 03824, US. E-mail: