The NEW ABS News System is Now Available.View News »

Applied Animal Behavior


The field of Applied Animal Behavior specializes in the behavior of companion animals, the behavior of farm, zoo and laboratory animals and studies of the behavior of wild animals when these studies are relevant from an applied perspective, as well as methodological studies.



 

CAAB Directory

The Animal Behavior Society does not offer behavior counseling or services. These are available through Certified Applied Animal Behaviorists. Please contact one of those listed in the CAAB directory below. If there is no Board Certified Behaviorist in you area, there are also some behaviorists that offer phone consultations. You would need to contact them individually.

Jennifer Barg, MS, CDBC, ACAAB
Board Certified 2013
Pueblo Animal Services
A Division of the Humane Society of the Pikes Peak Region
4600 Eagleridge Place
Pueblo, CO 81008
Tel: 719-404-5427
Fax: 719-544-2991
Email: jbarg@hsppr.org
Website: www.hsppr.org

Kathryn Bayne, PhD, DVM, DACLAM, DACAW, CAAB
Board Certified 1991
Global Director
AAALAC International
Email: kbayne@aaalac.org
Website: www.aaalac.org

Peter L. Borchelt, PhD, CAAB

Board Certified 1991
Animal Behavior Consultant
102 Canton Court
Brooklyn, NY 11229
Tel: 718-891-4200
Fax: 718-891-0741
E-mail: animbehav@aol.com
Website: www.animalbehavior.com

Mary Burch, PhD, CAAB

Board Certified 1997
Director, AKC Canine Good Citizen Program
2213 Napoleon Bonaparte Drive
Tallahassee, FL 32308
Tel: 850-877-2901
E-mail: dogs@nettally.com
Website: www.drmaryburch.com

Terri M. Bright, PhD D, BCBA-D, CAAB 
Board Certified 2015
Director of Behavior Services
MSPCA Angell
350 So. Huntington Ave.
Boston, MA 02130
Tel: 617-522-5055 X5297
E-mail: tbright@mspca.org
Website: www.mspca.org

Kristen Collins, MS, ACAAB
Board Certified 2011
ASPCA Behavioral Rehabilitation Center
575 Woodland Avenue
Madison, NJ 07940
Tel: 217.480.5462
E-mail: Kristen.Collins@aspca.org
Website: www.aspca.org

Crista L. Coppola, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 2006
Dog and Company Behavior Consulting, LLC
Services offered in Southern Arizona
Tel: 520-369-3649
Fax: 702-991-0281
E-mail: info@dogandco.com
Website: www.DogandCo.com

Tammy McCormick Donaldson, MS, PhD, CAAB

Board Certified 2003
Applied Animal Behavior Consulting
800 Ballantine Road
Golden, CO 80401
E-mail: appliedanimalbehavior@yahoo.com

Nicole R. Dorey, PhD
Board Certified 2015
University of Florida and BARCgroup, LLC
University of Florida’s office phone: 352-273-2188
University of Florida’s fax: 352- 392-7985
E-mail: ndorey@ufl.edu and Nicole.dorey@gmail.com

Natasha Drain, MSc ACAAB
Board Certified 2015
Arlington, Virginia  22204
Tel: 571.225.5795
E-mail: natasha.drain1@gmail.com

Daniel Q. Estep, MA, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 1991
Animal Behavior Associates, Inc.
7900 W Layton Avenue #905
Littleton, CO 80123
Tel: 303-932-9095
Fax: 303-646-5257
December - May
13208 N. Cedar Drive
Sun City, AZ 85351
Tel: 303-932-9095
E-mail: Dan@AnimalBehaviorAssociates.com
Website: www.AnimalBehaviorAssociates.com and www.behavioreducationnetwork.com

Jacqueline Fantuzzi, MS, MA, MBA, ACAAB
Board Certified 2011
111 Pembroke Street
Boston, MA 02118
Tel: 617-314-2361
Email: bostonpetbehavior@gmail.com

Brenda Forsythe, PhD, DVM, CAAB
Board Certified 2007
Orcutt Veterinary Hospital
4869 S. Bradley Road
Santa Maria, CA 93455
Tel: 805-938-5362
E-mail: OrcuttVet@aol.com
Website: www.orcuttvet.com

Robin Foster, PhD, CAAB

Board Certified 2013
University of Puget Sound
Tacoma, WA 98416
E-mail: rfoster@pugetsound.edu
and
Adaptive Animals, LLC
Seattle, WA
Tel: 206-940-7127
E-mail: adaptiveanimals@gmail.com
Website: www.adaptiveanimals.com

Jill Goldman, Ms.C., PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 2005
DJG Animal Behavior
P.O. Box 2032
Toluca Lake, CA 91610
Tel: 949-683-4886
E-mail: help@drjillgoldman.com
Website: www.drjillgoldman.com

Emma Grigg, MA, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 2013
Post-doctoral Research Associate
University of California, Davis
School of Veterinary Medicine- Dept. of Population Health and Reproduction
Davis, CA 95616
E-mail: ekgrigg@ucdavis.eduekgrigg@gmail.com
Please note that I am not currently seeing behavior cases.

James C. Ha, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 2004
Research Professor
University of Washington
Department of Psychology
Box 351525
Seattle WA 98195
Tel: 425-210-1227
E-mail: jamescraigha@gmail.com
Website: www.faculty.washington.edu/jcha and www.adaptiveanimals.com

Lauren D. Hays, MS, ACAAB
Board Certified 2008
Austin Canine Consulting, Inc.
Austin, TX 78746
Tel: 512-663-6364
Fax: 512-328-6511
E-mail: lauren@austincanineconsulting.com
Website: www.austincanineconsulting.com

Suzanne Hetts, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 1991
Animal Behavior Associates, Inc.
7900 W Layton Avenue #905
Littleton, CO 80123
Tel: 303-932-9095
Fax: 303-646-5257
December - May
13208 N. Cedar Drive
Sun City, AZ 85351
Tel: 303-932-9095
Fax: 303-646-5257
E-mail: Info@AnimalBehaviorAssociates.com
Website: www.AnimalBehaviorAssociates.com
www.BehaviorEducationNetwork.com
Twitter.com/suzannehetts

Mary Huntsberry, MA, ACAAB
Board Certified 2010
Helping Pets Behave
Montgomery County, MD
Tel: 301-337-7401
Fax: 240-383-3457
E-mail: mary@helpingpetsbehave.com
Website: http://www.helpingpetsbehave.com/

Katenna Jones, ScM, CPDT, ACAAB
Board Certified 2006
Cumberland, RI
Tel: 401-439-6442
E-mail: Katenna@gmail.com

Susan D. Kapla, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 2006
Psychology Department
Northern Michigan University
1400 Presque Isle
Marquette, MI 49855
Department phone: 906-227-2935
Cell Phone: 906-458-5817
E-mail: sukapla@nmu.edu
Website: www.canineconsult.com

Camille King, EdD, MS, CPDT-KA, ACAAB
Board Certified 2011
17106 E. Bethany Circle
Aurora, Colorado 80013
E-Mail: k9edcenter@gmail.com
Office phone: 720-328-9852
Cell phone: 720-442-6754

Janice A. Koler-Matznick, MS, CPDT, ACAAB
Board Certified 2008
5265 Old Stage Road
Central Point, OR 97502
Cell: 541-621-9290
E-mail: jkoler@ccountry.com

Carmen LeBlanc, MS, CPDT, ACAAB
Board Certified 2009
Way To Behave
Vancouver, WA 98660
Tel: 541-400-0738
E-mail: carmen@waytobehave.com
Website: www.waytobehave.com

Jessica Lockhart, MS, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 2012
908 Autumn Lake Drive
Dallas, TX 75002
Tel: 214-686-8106
E-mail: Lockhart310@gmail.com

Karen London, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 2004
3100 W. Shannon Drive
Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Tel: 928-774-7424
E-mail: London@uwalumni.com

Ellen J. Mahurin MA, ACAAB
Board Certified 2013
Independent Contractor at Sabra Dog
1129 W Main St #13
Franklin, TN 37064
Tel: 615-450-0358
Email: ellen@sabradogtraining.com

Megan E. Maxwell, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 2004
Pet Behavior Change, LLC
4951 Preston Forest Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24060
Tel: 540-818-8711
Email: MeganMaxwell@petbehaviorchange.com
Website: www.petbehaviorchange.com

Patricia B. McConnell, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 1992
McConnell Publishing, Ltd.
P. O. Box 447
Black Earth, WI 53515
Tel: 608-767-2435
Fax: 608-767-5802
Website: www.patriciamcconnell.com
Blog: www.theotherendoftheleash.com

Sue M. McDonnell, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 1991
School of Veterinary Medicine
University of Pennsylvania
New Bolton Center
382 West Street Road
Kennett Square, PA 19348
Tel: 610-444-5800 X6221
Fax: 610-925-8104
E-mail: suemcd@vet.upenn.edu
Website: www.vet.upenn.edu/

Katherine Miller, PhD, CPDT, CAAB
Board Certified 2007
Director, Anti-Cruelty Behavior Research
ASPCA
E-mail:katherine.miller@aspca.org
Website:www.aspcabehavior.org

Heather Mohan-Gibbons, MS, RVT, CPDT-KA, CBCC-KA, ACAAB
Board Certified 2009
Director of Applied Research and Behavior
Shelter Research and Development
Community Outreach
ASPCA
P.O. Box 1186
Ojai, California 93024
Tel: 805-646-2134
Fax: 888-798-9473
E-mail: heather.mohan-gibbons@aspca.org
Website: www.aspcapro.org

Alice Moon-Fanelli, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 2000
Animal Behavior Consultations, LLC
Brooklyn Veterinary Hospital,
Brooklyn, CT 06234
PO Box 947
Eastford CT 06242,
Tel: 860-428-1458
E-mail: amoonf02@charter.net

Melissa Nelson Slater, MA, ACAAB
Board Certified 2013
PhD Student Level II
Assistant Curator of Behavioral Husbandry
Bronx Zoo
Bronx, NY 10460
Tel: 718-741-1127
E-mail: mnelson@wcs.org

Barbara Pezzanite, PhD, CPDT-KA, CAAB
Board Certified 2005
Long Island Animal Behavior Consulting Services
PO Box 1542
Lindenhurst, NY 11757
Tel: 646 712-2949
E-mail: info@liabc.com
Website: www.liabc.com

Pamela J. Reid, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 1994
ASPCA Anti-Cruelty Behavior Team & Behavioral Rehabilitation Center
P.O. Box 1182
Mars Hill, NC 28754
Tel: 917-838-0511
E-mail: pam.reid@aspca.org

Melissa Shyan-Norwalt, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 1993
Companion Animal Problem Solvers, Inc.
Greater Cincinnati, Dayton, and Indianapolis areas
Tel: 317 496-7502
E-mail: mshyan@earthlink.net
Website: http://home.earthlink.net/~companion-animal-problem-solvers/

Michele Wan, MS, MA, PhD, CAAB

Board Certified 2012
Advanced Dog Behavior Solutions, LLC
New York, NY (Manhattan). Also serving Fairfield County, CT, by referral only.
Tel: (646) 844-5040
E-mail: info@dogbehavioranswers.com
Website: http://www.dogbehavioranswers.com

Camille Ward, M.S., M.S., Ph.D., CAAB
Board-Certified 2010
About Dogs LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
W: www.AboutDogsLLC.com
E: AboutDogsLLC@gmail.com
P: 734.358.1972

Emily Weiss, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 2004
Vice President of Shelter Research and Behavior
ASPCA
Tel: 772-678-6318
E-mail: emily.weiss@aspca.org

Regina Willen, M.S. ACAAB
Board Certified 2016
Helping Animals Lost and Orphaned (HALO)
Behavior Consultation
3346 Jasper Rd
Xenia, OH 45385
Tel: 513.668.0088
E-mail: halok9behavior@gmail.com

Nancy Williams, MA, RVT, ACAAB
Board Certified 2004
Nancy Williams - Dogs and Cats With Issues
P.O. Box 182
Manchester, MD 21102
Tel: 410-374-1556
E-mail: nancy@dogswithissues.com
Website: www.dogswithissues.com

Sharon Wirant, MA, CPDT-KSA, CBCC, ACAAB

Board Certified 2009
Manager, Anti-Cruelty Behavior Services
ASPCA
Tel: 917-751-0011
Email: sharon.wirant@aspca.org
Website: www.aspca.org

Lindsay Wood Brown, MA, ACAAB
Board Certified 2011
1032 Walker’s Crossing Drive
Forest, VA 24551
Tel: (804) 317-0634
Email: lindsaywood98@gmail.com

John C. Wright, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 1991
Professor Emeritus of Psychology
Mercer University
Atlanta/Roswell Tel: 404-524-5500
E-mail: wright_jc@Mercer.edu
Website: http://cla.mercer.edu/psychology/faculty/j_wright/

Stephen Zawistowski, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 1997
Science Advisor Emeritus
ASPCA
14466 North Territorial Rd.
Chelsea, MI  48118
E-mail: stephen.zawistowski@aspca.org