,wi Animal Behavior Society
The NEW ABS News System is Now Available.View News »

Animal Behavior Society
Animal Behavior Society

Working towards a better understanding of animal behavior

 

Applied Animal Behavior


The field of Applied Animal Behavior specializes in the behavior of companion animals, the behavior of farm, zoo and laboratory animals and studies of the behavior of wild animals when these studies are relevant from an applied perspective, as well as methodological studies.



 

CAAB Directory

The Animal Behavior Society does not offer behavior counseling or services. These are available through Certified Applied Animal Behaviorists. Please contact one of those listed in the CAAB directory below. If there is no Board Certified Behaviorist in your area, there are also some behaviorists that offer phone consultations. You would need to contact them individually.

Jennifer Barg, MS, CDBC, ACAAB
Board Certified 2013
Larimer Humane Society
6317 Kyle Avenue
Fort Collins, CO 80525
Tel: 970-530-2964
Fax: 970-226-2968
Email: jbarg@larimerhumane.org
Website: www.larimerhumane.org

Kathryn Bayne, PhD, DVM, DACLAM, DACAW, CAAB
Board Certified 1991
Global Director
AAALAC International
Email: kbayne@aaalac.org
Website: www.aaalac.org

Peter L. Borchelt, PhD, CAAB

Board Certified 1991
Animal Behavior Consultant
102 Canton Court
Brooklyn, NY 11229
Tel: 718-891-4200
Fax: 718-891-0741
E-mail: animbehav@aol.com
Website: www.animalbehavior.com

Terri M. Bright, PhD D, BCBA-D, CAAB 
Board Certified 2015
Director of Behavior Services
MSPCA Angell
350 So. Huntington Ave.
Boston, MA 02130
Tel: 617-522-5055 X5297
E-mail: tbright@mspca.org
Website: www.mspca.org

Mary Burch, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 1997
Director, AKC Canine Good Citizen Program
2213 Napoleon Bonaparte Drive
Tallahassee, FL 32308
Tel: 850-877-2901
E-mail: dogs@nettally.com
Website: www.drmaryburch.com

Lillian Ciardelli, MA, ACAAB
Board Certified 2018
Accepting Inquiries Fall 2019

Kristen Collins, MS, ACAAB
Board Certified 2011
ASPCA Behavioral Rehabilitation Center
575 Woodland Avenue
Madison, NJ 07940
Tel: 217.480.5462
E-mail: Kristen.Collins@aspca.org
Website: www.aspca.org

Crista L. Coppola, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 2006
Dog and Company Behavior Consulting, LLC
Services offered in Southern Arizona
Tel: 520-369-3649
Fax: 702-991-0281
E-mail: info@dogandco.com
Website: www.DogandCo.com

Victoria A. Cussen, PhD CAAB
Board Certified 2019
Director of Applied Behavior Research
ASPCA Anti-Cruelty Behavior Team
Tel: (347) 514-1861
E-mail: victoria.cussen@aspca.org
Website: www.aspca.org

Mikel Maria Delgado, PhD, CAAB, CCBC
Board Certified 2018
Cat Behavior Consultant
Feline Minds
Richmond, CA 94803
Tel: 510.619.9567
Email: info@felineminds.com
Websites: felineminds.com & mikeldelgado.com

Tammy McCormick Donaldson, MS, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 2003
Applied Animal Behavior Consulting
800 Ballantine Road
Golden, CO 80401
E-mail: appliedanimalbehavior@yahoo.com

Nicole R. Dorey, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 2015
University of Florida and BARCgroup, LLC
University of Florida’s office phone: 352-273-2188
University of Florida’s fax: 352- 392-7985
E-mail: ndorey@ufl.edu and Nicole.dorey@gmail.com

Natasha Drain, MSc ACAAB
Board Certified 2015
Serenity Meow, LLC
Arlington, Virginia  22204
Tel: 571.225.5795
Email: serenitymeow@yahoo.com
Website: www.serenitymeow.net

Kristyn Echterling-Savage, Ph.D., CAAB, BCBA-D, CPDT-KA
Board Certified 2017
Beyond the Dog
7401 NW Eastside Dr.
Weatherby Lake, MO 64152
Tel: 816-668-9502
E-mail: Kristyn@beyondthedogtraining.com
Website: www.beyondthedogtraining.com

Daniel Q. Estep, MA, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 1991
Animal Behavior Associates, Inc.
17203 N. Palo Verde Dr.
Sun City, AZ 85373
Tel: 303-932-9095
E-mail: Dan@AnimalBehaviorAssociates.com
Website: www.AnimalBehaviorAssociates.com and www.behavioreducationnetwork.com

Robin Foster, PhD, CAAB, CHBC
Board Certified 2013
University of Puget Sound, Tacoma, WA
E-mail: rfoster@pugetsound.edu
dogs: http://www.adaptiveanimals.com
horses: http://www.horsebehaviorconsultant.com

Jill Goldman, Ms.C., PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 2005
DJG Animal Behavior
P.O. Box 2032
Toluca Lake, CA 91610
Tel: 949-683-4886
E-mail: help@drjillgoldman.com
Website: www.drjillgoldman.com

Emma Grigg, MA, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 2013
Post-doctoral Research Associate
University of California, Davis
School of Veterinary Medicine- Dept. of Population Health and Reproduction
Davis, CA 95616
E-mail: ekgrigg@ucdavis.eduekgrigg@gmail.com
Please note that I am not currently seeing behavior cases.

James C. Ha, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 2004
Emeritus Research Professor
University of Washington
Department of Psychology
PO Box 510461
Key Colony Beach FL 33051
Tel: 425-210-1227
E-mail: jamescraigha@gmail.com
Website:www.faculty.washington.edu/jchaDrJimHa.com, and www.dogmatters.us

Suzanne Hetts, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 1991
Animal Behavior Associates, Inc.
17203 N. Palo Verde Dr.
Sun City, AZ 85373
Tel: 303-932-9095
E-mail: Info@AnimalBehaviorAssociates.com
Website: www.AnimalBehaviorAssociates.com
www.BehaviorEducationNetwork.com
Twitter.com/suzannehetts

Mary Huntsberry, MA, ACAAB
Board Certified 2010
Helping Pets Behave
Montgomery County, MD
Tel: 301-337-7401
Fax: 240-383-3457
E-mail: mary@helpingpetsbehave.com
Website: http://www.helpingpetsbehave.com/

Katenna Jones, ScM, CPDT, ACAAB
Board Certified 2006
Cumberland, RI
Tel: 401-439-6442
E-mail: Katenna@gmail.com

Susan D. Kapla, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 2006
Psychology Department
Northern Michigan University
1400 Presque Isle
Marquette, MI 49855
Department phone: 906-227-2935
Cell Phone: 906-458-5817
E-mail: sukapla@nmu.edu
Website: www.canineconsult.com

Edith Katsnelson Ilan, Ph.D., CAAB
Board Certified 2018
Dog-Human Connection, LLC
Santa Clara, California
Tel: 650-864-1819
E-mail: doghumanconnection@gmail.com
Website: doghumanconnection.com

Camille King, EdD, MS, CPDT-KA, ACAAB
Board Certified 2011
Canine Education Center, LLC
2010 Flora Court
Loveland, CO, 80537
E-Mail: k9edcenter@gmail.com
Office phone: 970-292-8604
Cell phone: 720-442-6754

Jennie Lane, RVT, MA, ACAAB
Board Certified 2017
Synergy Animal Behavior
PO Box 38368, Germantown, TN 38183
Tel: 530-304-5428
E-mail: jennie@synergyanimalbehavior.com

Carmen LeBlanc, MS, CPDT, ACAAB
Board Certified 2009
Way To Behave
Vancouver, WA 98660
Tel: 541-400-0738
E-mail: carmen@waytobehave.com
Website: www.waytobehave.com

Jessica Lockhart, MS, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 2012
908 Autumn Lake Drive
Dallas, TX 75002
Tel: 214-686-8106
E-mail: Lockhart310@gmail.com

Karen London, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 2004
3100 W. Shannon Drive
Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Tel: 928-774-7424
E-mail: London@uwalumni.com

Megan E. Maxwell, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 2004
Pet Behavior Change, LLC
4951 Preston Forest Drive
Blacksburg, VA 24060
Tel: 540-818-8711
Email: MeganMaxwell@petbehaviorchange.com
Website: www.petbehaviorchange.com

Patricia B. McConnell, PhD, Emeritus CAAB
PO Box 447 Black Earth, WI 53515
Tel: 610-444-5800 X6221
Fax: 610-925-8104
E-mail: www.patriciamcconnell.com
Website: www.theotherendoftheleash.com
Website: www.aspcabehavior.org

Sue M. McDonnell, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 1991
School of Veterinary Medicine
University of Pennsylvania
New Bolton Center
382 West Street Road
Kennett Square, PA 19348
Tel: 610-444-5800 X6221
Fax: 610-925-8104
E-mail: suemcd@vet.upenn.edu
Website: www.vet.upenn.edu/
Website: www.aspcabehavior.org

Alice Moon-Fanelli, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 2000
Animal Behavior Consultations, LLC
Brooklyn Veterinary Hospital,
Brooklyn, CT 06234
PO Box 947
Eastford CT 06242,
Tel: 860-428-1458
E-mail: amoonf02@charter.net

Barbara Pezzanite, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 2005
Long Island Animal Behavior Consulting
Tel: 646-712-2949
Website: http://www.liabc.com
E-mail: barb@liabc.com

Julie Posluns, M.Sc. ACAAB
Board Certified 2019
CatSchool Inc.
Toronto, ON, Canada
Tel: 416-579-5719
Website: www.catschool.co
E-mail: hello@catschool.co

Pamela J. Reid, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 1994
ASPCA Anti-Cruelty Behavior Team
Hendersonville, NC 28739
Tel: 917-838-0511
E-mail: pam.reid@aspca.org

Melissa Shyan-Norwalt, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 1993
Companion Animal Problem Solvers, Inc.
Greater Cincinnati, Dayton, and Indianapolis areas
Tel: 317 496-7502
E-mail: mshyan@earthlink.net
Website: http://companion-animal-problem-solvers.com/

Kristina Spaulding, PhD, CAAB
Board Certified 2017
Dog Behaviorist, Lecturer
Smart Dog Training and Behavior LLC
Tel: 518-369-9135
E-mail: kristina@smartdogtrainingandbehavior.com
Website: www.smartdogtrainingandbehavior.com

Michele Wan, MS, MA, PhD, CAAB

Board Certified 2012
Advanced Dog Behavior Solutions, LLC
New York, NY (Manhattan). Also serving Fairfield County, CT
Tel: (646) 844-5040
E-mail: info@dogbehavioranswers.com
Website: http://www.dogbehavioranswers.com

Camille Ward, M.S., M.S., Ph.D., CAAB
Board-Certified 2010
About Dogs LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
W: www.AboutDogsLLC.com
E: AboutDogsLLC@gmail.com
P: 734.358.1972

Regina Willen, M.S. ACAAB
Board Certified 2016
Helping Animals Lost and Orphaned (HALO)
Behavior Consultation
3346 Jasper Rd
Xenia, OH 45385
Tel: 513.668.0088
E-mail: halok9behavior@gmail.com

Nancy Williams, MA, RVT, ACAAB
Board Certified 2004
Nancy Williams - Dogs and Cats With Issues
P.O. Box 182
Manchester, MD 21102
Tel: 410-374-1556
E-mail: nancy@dogswithissues.com
Website: www.dogswithissues.com

Sharon Wirant, MA, CPDT-KSA, CBCC, ACAAB

Board Certified 2009
Manager, Anti-Cruelty Behavior Services
59 Aldrich Road
Westmoreland, NH 03467
Email: sharonwirant@gmail.com

Lindsay Wood Brown, MA, ACAAB
Board Certified 2011
Think Behavior Consulting
Services offered in Richmond, Virginia
email: lindsay@thinkbehaviorlab.com
phone: (804) 317-0634

John C. Wright, PhD, Emeritus CAAB
Board Certified 1991
Emeritus Professor of Psychology
Mercer University
9645 Loblolly Ln
Roswell, GA 30075
Tel: 478-742-2538 (Atlanta)
E-mail: Wright_JC@Mercer.EDU
Website: https://cla.mercer.edu/psychology/faculty/j_wright/

Stephen Zawistowski, PhD, Emeritus CAAB
Board Certified 1997
Science Advisor Emeritus
ASPCA
14466 North Territorial Rd.
Chelsea, MI  48118
E-mail: stephen.zawistowski@aspca.org