Vol. 65, No. 2 | Fall 2020

2020 Career & Fellows Awards

Distinguished Animal Behaviorist Award

The Distinguished Animal Behaviorist Award is the Animal Behavior
Society´s most prestigious award and recognizes an outstanding career in animal behavior. Robert Seyfarth (University of Pennsylvania) has been awarded in 2020.

Quest Award

The Quest Award recognizes an outstanding seminal contribution in animal behavior. Deborah Gordon (Stanford University) is the recipient of the 2020 Quest Award.

Exemplar Award

The Exemplar Award recognizes a major long-term contribution in animal behavior. The 2020 Exemplar Award goes to George Uetz (University of Cincinnati).

Eceptional Service Award

Exceptional Service Award recognizes extraordinary service to the Animal Behavior Society. The 2020 Exemplar Award goes to Sue W. Margulis (Canisius College).

Outstanding New Investigator Award

The Outstanding New Investigator Award recognizes an outstanding contribution in animal behavior by a new investigator, no more than 10 years past obtaining a Ph.D. The 2020 Outstanding New Investigator Award goes to Mary Caswell (Cassie) Stoddard (Princeton).

Penny Bernstein Distinguished Teaching Award

The Penny Bernstein Distinguished Teaching Award recognizes a sustained record of excellent teaching of animal behavior in the classroom or informal education setting. The 2020 Bernstein Distinguished Teaching Award goes to Anna Young (Otterbein University).

Richard Buchholz Conservation Behavior Award

The award recognizes ABS members for their outstanding contributions to the integrative field of Conservation Behavior. The award was named to honor Richard Buchholz for his foundational and continuing work in integrating the fields of animal behavior and conservation biology.  The 2020 Award goes to Colleen Cassady St. Clair (University of Alberta).




The Animal Behavior Society is pleased to announce the election of four new Fellows of the Society. The newly-elected ABS Fellows are:

Caitlin R. Gabor
Texas State University, USA

Elisabetta Palagi
University of Pisa, Italy

Daniel Dean Wiegmann
Bowling Green State University, USA

ABS Newsletter

Send general correspondence concerning the Society to Danielle J. Whittaker, Public Affairs Officer, at: publicaffairs@
. Deadlines for materials to be included in the Newsletter are the 15th of the month preceding each issue. The next deadline is February 15, 2021. Articles submitted by members of the Society and judged by the Public Affairs Officer to be appropriate are occasionally published in the ABS newsletter. The publication of such material does not imply ABS endorsement of the opinions expressed by contributors.

Animal Behavior Society Website: http://www.animalbehaviorsociety.org

Animal Behavior

Animal Behavior, manuscripts and editorial matters: Authors should submit manuscripts online to Elsevier’s Editorial System (http://ees.elsevier.com/anbeh/). For enquiries relating to submissions prior to acceptance, contact the Journal Manager ([email protected]). For enquiries relating to submissions after acceptance, visit Elsevier at http://www.elsevier.com/journals. For other general correspondence, contact Kris Bruner, Managing Editor, Animal Behaviour, Indiana University, 407 N. Park Avenue, Bloomington, IN 47408, USA. E-mail: [email protected]. Phone: 812-935-7188.

Change of address, missing or defective issues: ABS Central Office, 2111 Chestnut Avenue, Suite 145, Glenview, IL 60025, US. Phone: 312-893-6585. Fax: 312-896-5614. E-mail: [email protected].