Animal Behavior Society
  • Pet Owners
  • Login/Join
  • Journal
  • Contact Us
  • Search

Richard Buchholz Conservation Behavior Award

The Animal Behavior Society Conservation Committee established the Richard Buchholz Conservation Behavior Award in 2020. The award recognizes ABS members for their outstanding contributions to the integrative field of Conservation Behavior. The award was named to honor Richard Buchholz for his foundational and continuing work in integrating the fields of animal behavior and conservation biology. One recipient is selected annually and presented with a plaque at the ABS Awards Ceremony.

Nominee Requirements: Nominees must be ABS members. Members and members-elect of the Executive Committee or the Conservation Committee are not eligible for nomination until 18 months after completion of their service on the Committee. Nominees must have a research program that uses animal behavior to address conservation related issues, from management to theoretical aspects. Nominees should also have a positive reputation among peers and the public for advancing the subfield of Conservation Behavior.

Award Criteria:

  • Publication history in the field of Conservation Behavior
  • The number of students who have gone on to work in Conservation Behavior
  • Courses designed and taught that are related to Conservation Behavior
  • The number of conservation programs that have been affected through the nominee’s work
  • The variety of approaches used by the researcher

Note: Nominees must show evidence of achievement in at least 3 of these 5 criteria.

Nomination Process: Nominations are open until January 15 annually. Persons wishing to make a nomination should complete the nomination form found in the link below (including a list of relevant publications, and names and contact information for at least two peers that can speak to the nominee’s work). The form found in the link below, along with a letter detailing how the nominee fits the award criteria, should be submitted to the ABS Conservation Committee Chair [email protected] , by January 15; please use PDF or Word formats. If needed, the Conservation Committee will solicit additional supporting materials from the nominee and they will contact suggested peers and conservation practitioners.


The recipient of this award will receive recognition at the annual ABS Awards Ceremony, and will be given a plaque from the Society.

Previous Recipients

Richard Buchholz Conservation Behavior Award Year Awarded
Lisa M. Angeloni 2023
Bruce A. Schulte 2022
Daniel T. Blumstein 2021
Colleen Cassady St. Clair 2020